KBS Fest

A conference on the occasion of 75th birthday of Professor Kalyan Bidhan Sinha

Hosted by: Indian Statistical Institute

Date: December 12-14, 2019

Statistics and Mathematics Unit
Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore Center
Bangalore, India


KBS Fest video playlist

KBS Fest Pictures


Professor Kalyan Bidhan Sinha ( KBS) is turning 75 this year. He influenced quite a few mathematicians and mathematical physicists in his distinguished career since his return to india in the late 1970's. To celebrate this occasion and to bring together leading experts and young researchers in these fields of analysis, functional analysis, operator algebras and their interfaces with probability and geometry, we are planning a conference during 12-14 December, 2019.

KBS worked in Quantum Field Theory during his doctoral studies, and after that on the Spectral Theory of Schrodinger operators, for several years in Geneva, Switzerland. His book on the Mathematical theory of Scattering in Quantum Mechanics (with W.O.Amrein and J.M. Jauch ) is a classic. While continuing his work on Spectral theory, KBS became interested in the then young subject of Quantum Probability, under the influence of Professor K.R. Parthasarathy at the Delhi Centre of ISI. They collaborated extensively, writing a series of pioneering papers, guided several students, wrote books on the subject. Many distinguished researchers in these areas, from all over the world, visited the Delhi Centre of ISI regularly, firmly establishing it as one of the major centres of quantum probability. Later, KBS got interested in the area of non- commutative geometry, trace formulae in operator theory and along with a few of his students, introduced these new areas in India . At present, Professor Kalyan Bidhan Sinha is a (honorary) professor and SERB-Distinguished Fellow at JNCASR, Bangalore, a member of the National Mathematics Initiative (NMI), I.I.Sc., Bangalore and an Emeritus Professor, ISI.

We anticipate an exciting gathering of former and current students, collaborators, colleagues, and friends of KBS.


There will be no registration fee and participants are invited via e-mail. However, if you would like to be considered for an invitation, please e-mail kbsfest2019 AT gmail DOT com. We will provide local hospitality with guest house/hotel/hostel accommodation to all the participants who are not from Bangalore.


Luigi Accardi (University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy)
Athira Babu (CUSAT, India)
Stephen Barreto (Padre Conceicao College of Engineering, India)
Sudeshna Basu (George Washington University, USA)
B V Rajarama Bhat (ISI Bangalore, India)
Suvrajit Bhattacharjee (ISI Kolkata, India)
Tirthankar Bhattacharyya (IISc, India)
Jyotishman Bhowmick (ISI Kolkata, India)
Indranil Biswas (TIFR Mumbai, India)
Arup Chattopadhyay (IIT Guwahati, India)
Dauda Alani Dikko (University of Ibadan, Nigeria)
Dhriti Ranjan Dolai (IIT Dharwad, India)
Franco Fagnola (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Uwe Franz (University of Franche-Comte, France)
Debashish Goswami (ISI Kolkata, India)
Satyajit Guin (IIT Kanpur, India)
Rajeev Gupta (IIT Kanpur, India)
Peter D. Hislop (University of Kentucky, USA)
Un Cig Ji (Chungbuk National University, South Korea)
Purbayan Chakraborty (University of Franche-Comte, France)
Tiju Cherian John (ISI Delhi, India)
Sumesh Kappil (IIT Chennai, India)
Apoorva Khare (IISc, India)
Arundhathi Krishnan (University College Cork, Ireland)
S. H. Kulkarni (IIT Palakkad, India)
Dharmendra Kumar (Sataywati college, India)
Kiran Kumar (CUSAT, India)
Martin Lindsay (Lancaster University, UK)
Krishna Maddaly (Ashoka University, India)
Nirupama Mallick (CMI, India)
Gadadhar Misra (IISc, India)
Murugan S P (CMI, India)
Narayanan Namboodiri (CUSAT, India)
A. Noufal (CUSAT, India)
Arup Pal (ISI Delhi, India)
Sourav Pal (IIT Bombay, India)
Issan Patri (CMI, India)
K. R. Parthasarathy (ISI Delhi, India)
Paramita Pramanick (IISc, India)
Rahul Rajan (CUSAT, India)
G Ramesh (IIT Hyderabad, India)
Arunkumar C S (KSoM, India)
Lingaraj Sahu (IISER Mohali, India)
Jaydeb Sarkar (ISI Bangalore, India)
Bipul Saurabh (IIT Gandhinagar, India)
Ritabrata Sengupta (IISER Berhampur, India)
Barry Simon (Caltech, USA)
K. B. Sinha (JNCASR, India)
Sivaguru S Sritharan (M. S. Ramaiah University, India)
S. Sunder (IMSc, India)
Gayathri Varma (ISI Delhi, India)
Stephen Wills (University College Cork, Ireland)
Deepak K D(ISI Bangalore, India)
Gunjan Sapra (ISI Bangalore, India)
Mohan.R (ISI Bangalore, India)
Aryaman Sensarma (ISI Bangalore, India)
Santhosh K Pamula (ISI Bangalore, India)
Kousik Dhara (ISI Bangalore, India)
P. Shankar (ISI Bangalore, India)
Manish Kumar (ISI Bangalore, India)
Geethika Sebastian (ISI Bangalore, India)
Tathagata Banerjee (ISI Bangalore, India)
Deepak Pradhan (ISI Bangalore, India)
Lavy Koilpitchai (ISI Bangalore, India)
Ramlal debnath (ISI Bangalore, India)
Narayan Rakshit (ISI Bangalore, India)
Anindya Ghatak (ISI Bangalore, India)
Mansi Anil Suryawanshi (ISI Bangalore, India)
Vijay U (ISI Bangalore, India)
Susmita Das (ISI Bangalore, India)
Sandipan De (ISI Bangalore, India)


Location: 2nd Floor Auditorium, Academic Building, ISI Bangalore.

Titles and Abstracts of Talks

Group Photo (13 December @ 1PM).

Conference Dinner (13 December @ The Club, Mysore Road, during 7.45-10.00 PM).

Tree sapling by Professor K. B. Sihna (14 December @ 1PM).

Day 1 (Thursday : December 12)

9.15-9.55 9.55-10.00 10.00-10.55 11.00-11.30 11.30-12.10 12.15-12.55 13.00-14.15 14.15-14.55 15.00-15.30 15.30-16.10 16.15-16.55 17.00-17.30
Registration Welcome Barry Simon COFFEE Uwe Franz S. Sundar LUNCH Apoorva Khare COFFEE Arup Chattopadhyay Franco Fagnola SNACKS

Day 2 (Friday : December 13)

9.30-10.10 10.15-10.55 11.00-11.30 11.30-12.10 12.15-12.55 13.00-14.15 14.15-14.55 15.00-17.15 19.15-22.00
Gadadhar Misra Indranil Biswas COFFEE Luigi Accardi Sivaguru Sritharan LUNCH Peter Hislop Coffee, cake and felicitation Conference Dinner

Day 3 (Saturday : December 14)

9.30-10.10 10.15-10.55 11.00-11.30 11.30-12.10 12.15-12.55 13.00-14.15 14.15-14.55 15.00-15.30 15.30-16.10 16.15-17.00
K. R. Parthasarathy Debashish Goswami COFFEE Martin Lindsay Un Cig Ji LUNCH Stephen Wills COFFEE Krishna Maddaly Close of Conference, Coffee and Snacks


Luigi Accardi
Indranil Biswas
Arup Chattopadhyay
Franco Fagnola
Uwe Franz
Debashish Goswami
Peter D. Hislop
Un Cig Ji
Apoorva Khare
Martin Lindsay
Krishna Maddaly
Gadadhar Misra
K. R. Parthasarathy
Barry Simon
Sivaguru Sritharan
S. Sunder
Stephen Wills

Organizers: B V Rajarama Bhat and Jaydeb Sarkar from ISI Bangalore, Debashish Goswami and Partha Sarathi Chakraborty from ISI Kolkata, Arup Pal from ISI Delhi, and Krishna Maddaly from Ashoka University.

Indian Statistical Institute  |  Statistics and Mathematics Unit, Bangalore  |  Karnataka Tourism  |  Bangalore City  |  How to reach ISI Bangalore  |  History of ISI